DIALOGUE (Suite du deuxième ton) – Jean-Adam Guilain

Jean-Adam Guilain was born in Germany in 1680. It’s widely believed that he studied under Louis Marchand, a renowned organ teacher of that era, as evidenced by Guilain’s organ collection dedication to Marchand. Despite his German roots, Guilain’s music is a testament to the pure French tradition. His most notable work, “Pièces d’orgue pour le Magnificat sur les huit tons différents de l’église”, was published in 1706. This collection, originally in two volumes, now only has one volume remaining. It comprises eight suites, each corresponding to a different church mode for the Magnificat. Each suite consists of seven brief movements, designed to alternate with the liturgical vocal parts. This Dialogue is from his “Suite du deuxième ton”.

Score: https://www.sheetmusicplus.com/title/suites-of-the-1st-to-4th-tone-sheet-music/1571690?aff_id=478282

Organ specification:
Bourdon 16
Montre 8
Bourdon à Cheminée 8
Cor de Chamois 8
Octave 4
Flûte Harmonique 4
Quinte 2-2/3
Doublette 2
Fourniture IV
Trompette 8

Montre 8
Bourdon 8
Viole de Gambe 8
Voix Céleste 8
Prestant 4
Flûte à Fuseau 4
Nasard 2-2/3
Flûte à Bec 2
Tierce 1-3/5
Plein Jeu IV
Basson 16
Trompette 8
Hautbois* 8
Voix Humaine 8

Montre 16
Soubasse 16
Octave 8
Bourdon 8
Prestant 4
Fourniture III
Bombarde 16
Trompette 8
Chalumeau 4

* The Hautbois rank was supplied by Orgues Letourneau and installed by Peter D. G. Jewkes Pty Ltd in November 2007. It replaced the original Voix Humaine 8’ rank which was reinstalled by Jewkes in November 2020.

compass: 58/30
3 couplers
suspended mechanical key action
electric stop action
adjustable thumb & toe pistons
(32 channels)
balanced mechanical swell pedal
Source: https://www.ohta.org.au/organs/organs/AlburyStMatts.html

Business enquiries: [email protected]

To support my channel or for further information: https://linktr.ee/james_flores